Fabulous Film Fridays, June 17 – The Versatile Holga

Flipping through some old shots from earlier this year, I was struck by a series of images made in succession on one roll of Ilford XP-2 400 speed film with my Holga, Beep.  This is the first image:

This is a photo of our dog, Brando, who is patiently waiting for his Master to release him from his ‘stay’.  It’s a straight shot in that it is just straightforward:  choose the settings and shoot away.  The next image has a twist:

We had a foggy winter sunrise one morning, and I noticed that the sun was going to pop up just over our neighbour’s rooftop.  I grabbed Beep and rattled off this shot just as the sun was coming over the roof.  I was curious as to what insane effect might happen by shooting into the sun, through a glass window (something you would probably never do with a dSLR where sharp, clear pictures rule the day).  I’m not sure if it’s a good shot, but it was fun!  And finally, more fun with Beep.  Turn your mistakes into magic!  I forgot to wind my film for one of the last two images made in this series.  I had photographed an old car in the mountains, but also took my Holga along to a fondue dinner with friends.  So there you go!  Fondue from a truck!  Aren’t Holgas fun?

~ by Samantha on June 17, 2011.

4 Responses to “Fabulous Film Fridays, June 17 – The Versatile Holga”

  1. I love it…what I call a “happy accident”! …and do I recognize the fella at the end of the table?! I think so! Wow, a year of meeting some pretty impressive folks!

  2. I really like the double exposure, mine from the hustle look pretty bad. Good thing is that’s a reason to get a Holga and try again 🙂

  3. Happy accidents can sometimes lead to good ideas! Sorry to hear your double exposures didn’t quite work, Hendrik, although I’m sure it will be hard be out shooting again!

  4. Never mind mistake Sam, just say that you intended to do it and call it “Art”!

Leave a Reply

 
