Inspiring Work

I’m always amazed at the diverse skills of my friend, photographer Wayne Simpson.  Not only is he gifted at crafting breath-taking landscape images, but he is also a very talented portrait and wedding photographer.  I think what I like most about his work is that he frequently surprises me with a fresh take on themes that have been done before — or he comes up with completely new ideas.  No doubt, he’s his own artist!  I was perusing his blog the other day when I came across this portrait he had done for a couple:

Here’s the exif data on the shot:

Exif:
1D Mark IV
70-200 2.8 IS II

1/160 sec
F/6.3
iso 800
two 580 exII’s triggered by pocket wizzards
And here’s what Wayne had to say about this ‘cool’ shot:
“It was quite cold and dark so I decided to go with it and really play up the cold. I placed one canon 580 exII behind Bryanna and Derek (don’t remember the pup’s name!) to backlight the snow as well as provide a little rim light as separation from the background. I then placed another 580 exII in front and slightly camera left and gelled it for tungsten. I set my camera white balance to tungsten to balance it with the main flash which in turn allowed the background to register as a nice cool blue. The light which reflected off the back of the jerseys turned the snow red directly behind them so I removed that in post. The flames won that day– I like to think we had a little something to do with that!”
Inspiring work, Wayne!  A big hats off to you guys for braving the frigid temperatures to get the shot!!
~ by Samantha on March 5, 2011.

3 Responses to “Inspiring Work”

  1. Beauty Shot!..It says, ‘We love Hockey!’

  2. Good Shot! thanks for sharing Sam 🙂
    I really think that cameras need to show the temperature in the exif !! If it could show the windchill factor too that would be even better.

  3. This is so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

 
