Seeing the Light…with Joe McNally!

I’m attending a workshop this weekend taught by Joe McNally on using studio lights.  There are some parts of photography that are hard for me to muster up the interest to learn, and studio lighting has been one of those areas.  The gear and gadgets are intimidating.  (How many of you out there have pinched your hands in those collapsable light stands?  C’mon, it’s ok, you can admit it….)  You practically need a degree in the language of light metres — at least, for latecomers like myself who rely on our camera’s histogram to tell us if we’re on the right track.  This is where digital photography has probably not been great for new photographers — we’re much lazier about light.  I know for myself that I need to improve my knowledge of photography by learning more about artificial light sources.

Plus it will be useful in future work with models outdoors, an area in which I am interested in learning more.  Until then, I use natural light and some software trickery.  Nik’s Silver Efex Pro was used to simulate the look of overexposed film for this image.  Darwin and I talk more about using Nik Software in our article in Popular Photography Magazine out this fall.

 

~ by Samantha on November 12, 2010.

3 Responses to “Seeing the Light…with Joe McNally!”

  1. Funny, I was actually thinking the same thing about lighting. I need to learn more about strobes etc so, I will probably take a class soon. I’m planning to take a basic lighting class but all about lighting only. That’s what I love about photography, it’s never ending learning process. Btw, very beautiful, artistic shot.

  2. Sam, I’m glad to hear you are going to Joe McNally. I’ve known that I need to learn more about lighting ever since out evening of flash at Extreme SK. See you there!

  3. You are soooo lucky. I wish I could of went to his class. Maybe next year. You’re going to have a great time. McNally is one of the best when it comes to lighting.

Leave a Reply

 
