The Pitfalls of Procrastination

We all do it.  Instead of buckling down and getting that project done, we surf the ‘net, weed the garden, answer the phone.  But one of the key markers of success is an ability to start and finish only a few projects at a time.  With all the junk thrown at us at super-sonic speed, this can be challenging, to say the least.  Case in point:  I am collaborating with my mother on a book project featuring some of my images from Dinosaur Provincial Park.  My mom has written the text and asked me to help illustrate the book with images.  Despite my best efforts, a trip to Dinosaur Provincial Park has not happened yet (in the fall, Mom, I promise!!).

So what have I been doing with my time?  I am often asked what a typical day is like as a photographer.  Since I do so much more than just take pictures, including writing projects, other art projects and film, there is no typical day.  But a common theme is a lot of time spent on administration:  answering email, planning events and tours, writing articles.  I think the key to completing a few main projects is to prioritize.  Realistically determining what you can accomplish in a day, week or month is an essential business skill.  Although you do not want to be a slave to schedule, sticking to your plan and finishing a project before starting five new ones will get you a lot further ahead.  For people who have spent more than half of their life in the institution called ‘school’ (like me), setting and meeting deadlines can be very helpful.

With that thought in mind, I’d better go schedule in that trip to Dinosaur Provincial Park!

~ by Samantha on August 12, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Pitfalls of Procrastination”

  1. I really need to read thio but I think I will do it later 😉

    Have FUN!!!

  2. This is a great photo. I love the clouds.

Leave a Reply

 
