Why Can’t We All Just Get Along?

As a follow up to my post, “The Art of Constructive Criticism”, I am deciding to follow the rules of Netiquette on my blog.  Just like you wouldn’t want people to come to your house and then proceed to shout at you or insult you, receiving rude or unhelpful comments on forums or blogs on the Internet is also distasteful.  Netiquette to the rescue!  Based on the book Netiquette by Virginia Shea, the rules admonish cyber-walkers to remember that behind the impersonal webpage are human beings with thoughts and feelings just like…well golly gee just like your own.

 Only comments that follow proper Netiquette will be posted.  I encourage others out there to pursue the same civility.  It’s always easier to be negative; it takes more intelligence, heart and character to find something constructive to say when you don’t agree with the other person’s opinions.

~ by Samantha on January 26, 2010.

7 Responses to “Why Can’t We All Just Get Along?”

  1. I think this is an excellent policy that will serve you well. I think that there’s more than enough room for everyone to share their opinion, but there’s also no reason why those opinions can’t be presented in a civil way.

  2. Well said, Sam! The Internet can resemble a brothel at its worst. It’s tough to crack down on cyber-idiots since you can’t reach through your computer screen to enact justice quite as easily as in real life. Morality and ethics are measured in a person when no one else is looking… that kind of sums up the entire problem with anonymous posting as well as people behind tinted windows in traffic. The lowest common denominator floats to the surface like an oil slick. It’s nice to hear other voicing concerns about this type of thing and making a stand!

  3. I agree. I remember reading your previous post about that issue. I couldn’t believe how rude that person was. I really like your photographs and I visit your blog often for inspiration and I also like reading what you have to say. 🙂

  4. Hi Sam,

    I agree with you we should all act civil on the net.

    However, we can’t stick our heads in the sand either.

    We must be able to listen to both sides of the issue and make up our own mind on a particular subject.

    I value other opinions good or bad. I don’t get upset if someone don’t like my photography. Maybe they are right.

    So, give me an opinion good or bad.

    David Lilly

  5. Great feedback everyone. “Getting along” does not, of course, mean always agreeing (with me). I love a spirited but respectful debate. We all learn, then.

  6. […] now on I am taking the lead of Samantha Chrysanthou and her blog in following the rules of Netiquette. No prima donna’s, name-callers, princesses, bullies, […]

  7. Your absolutely right Sam. We all to often are driven by our pride and emotions and when this sneaks up those things that usually guide our tongue shut down. When feeling like you need to cut someone down, step back, breath……..walk away to ponder a different way of saying what your feeling.

Leave a Reply

 
