Now I’ve Done It…

Abstracts

Well, now I’ve gone and done it.

Sometimes, I think I approach things in a very backwards way.  In the midst of this digital craze, and the ever-increasing speed at which new and bigger! better! faster! cameras are coming out, I have purchased a large format film camera.  Specifically, I have acquired a Takahara 4×5 large format field camera.  Two positive things about this situation that come to me off the top of my head is that 1) the camera is really quite pretty! with polished wood and brass accents and 2) I am really going to learn about exposure now (which is good, if you are a photographer).

At this moment, the camera is sitting in its silver little box in the basement waiting for me to take it out and play.  Which is exactly what I will do, as soon as I get through this book on exposure!

Pandora's Box

~ by Samantha on June 14, 2009.

3 Responses to “Now I’ve Done It…”

  1. It takes a lot to make a leap into the unknown. I admire your bravery. I have a full time career but I do enjoy photography. I started with film and have now moved over big time to digital. I am finding it a bit of a challenge with exposures but I am working through it. I especially like your landscape/outdoors captures. I still have a Nikon F90 that I play with a bit. I do my own processing so it takes some of the cost out. I also get to keep better control of the finished product.

    Have fun with it.

  2. Congratulations. I’m looking forward to reading about your experiences with LF. And, of course, the images.

    – Dan.

  3. I love it Sam! Large Format. I had a 4×5 camera for about a year but ended up selling it. I loved the process of shooting with a LF camera – movements, focusing, dark cloth and like you said, the wood and brass were beautiful. In the end though, I just couldn’t justify having two camera systems – 4×5 and DSLR so I sold it and with the money I bought a tilt-shift lens so I would at least have some of the movements on my DSLR. I still miss the “LF experience” and maybe I’ll try it out again sometime in the future. Needless to say, I look forward to reading about your experiences with your 4×5 camera.

    Tom

Leave a Reply

 
