Fabulous Film Fridays, December 2 — Under the Wire

Whew!  Darwin and I have been working on our new website for the past week, so I’ve been very neglectful of my blog.  Shame on me!  But, for the patient, here at the last minute is my Film Friday picture.  It is from one of Darwin and my daily dog walks.  There is a massive culvert under a road that leads to the mill that processes all the lumber from nearby forests.  The sawmill is almost a fixture in the Cochrane landscape and employs many people, including my neighbour.  Wood is such a beautiful and giving natural resource (when managed wisely) and, when Cochrane is not blowing its pollution towards Calgary on a strong westerly, we can smell the sawdust smell of the mill at work.  I am always of two minds when I inhale the dust of trees at the guillotine:  gratitude for the wooden floor I walk on everyday, and sadness for the loss of life and home for the millions of creatures who made that particular tree-condo home.

~ by Samantha on December 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

